The National Waste & Recycling Association is located at:

1550 Crystal Drive, Suite 804, Arlington, VA 22202
T: 800-424-2869, 202-244-4700
F: 202-966-4824

To use our contact form and to subscribe to our free publications, click here.
Media: Brandon Wright at 202-364-3706 or

Begin With The Bin

Begin with the Bin is a public education resource developed by the National Waste & Recycling Association. The site offers information and resources related to the waste and recycling industries.

Visit and learn more at

Award Programs

NWRA has a number of different annual award programs for individuals and companies, acknowledging the diversity of our industry. The majority of the awards, with the exception of the Recycling Awards, are presented at the NWRA Awards Breakfast at WasteExpo.

2019 NWRA Awards Breakfast

The following awards will reopen April 16, 2018

2019 Driver of the Year

Drivers in nine different categories, based on size and type of company, can be nominated by their peers or companies. For more information click here, or begin your application.

2019 Operator of the Year Award

An award for operators working in post-collection including landfills, MRFs and transfer stations. They can be nominated by their peers or companies. For more information click here, or begin your application.

2019 Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame recognizes leaders in the industry who have made significant contributions. For more information click here, or begin your application.

Women's Council Scholarships

Every year the Women's Council gives scholarships to three member/ member's dependents. For more informationclick here, or begin your application.

Member of the Year

The Member of the Year is selected based upon extraordinary service to the mission and goals of the Association and the industry over the last 12 months. View past recipients.

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Awards are made to longstanding members of the Association who render service in pursuit of its mission and goals over a period of time, generally spanning a number of years. The award is presented to recognize the highest spirit of volunteerism and involvement, personal integrity, professionalism, and performance in an honorable and ethical manner. View past recipients.

Chapter Leadership Award 

The Chapter Leadership Award will be presented to members whose contributions to a chapter over the last 12 months, or over a period of time, were particularly meritorious. This award often goes to an individual who is a "go to" person. The award is meant to encourage recipients to remain active in the Association and continue developing leadership skills to serve the association. Until 2015, this award was known as the Special Governor's Board Award. View past recipients.

Recycling Awards

Organizations and partnerships can apply for six different Recycling Awards. The recycling Awards will reopen March 19, 2018. The deadline for the 2018 awards is July 27, 2018. Awards will be presented at NWRA's Executive Leadership Roundtable.


2018 Driver of the Year Award. Nominate Your Best. Deadline 12.15.17

Stay Connected

Sign up and stay current on news at the Association and across our industry.

Contact Info

National Waste & Recycling Association
1550 Crystal Drive, Suite 804
Arlington, VA 22202
T: 800-424-2869 T: 202-244-4700
F: 202-966-4824