Member Login | E-Store | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse
News & Press: NWRA News

NWRA Announces 2019 Drivers and Operators of the Year

Wednesday, March 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Brandon Wright
Share |


March 20, 2019                        


Awards Recognize Talented Drivers and Operators from Companies Who Put Safety First

 Arlington, VA – The National Waste and Recycling Association announced its 2019 Drivers of the Year and Operator of the Year winners. The awards recognize the drivers and operators from member companies who put safety as their top priority.

 Our members and their employees are dedicated to keeping our communities clean and safe on a daily basis. It is important that we recognize the drivers and operators who make safety a priority. I congratulate them on their achievement,” said NWRA President and CEO, Darrell Smith.

 The 2019 Drivers of the Year are drivers who operate their trucks in a safe and responsible manner, have outstanding performance records, and whose contributions have enhanced the overall safety and image of the solid waste industry.

The 2019 Operators of the Year are for employees working in post-collection for a MRF (materials recovery facility), landfill, or transfer station who safely operate heavy equipment, including bulldozers, front-end loaders, and compactors.

The finalists were determined by a computerized scoring system. Independent judges selected the winners based on letters of recommendation and, for drivers, the difficulty of the route. During judging, operators were also judged on difficulty of their equipment to operate.

The awardees will be recognized at the NWRA Awards Breakfast on Tuesday, May 7.

2019 Drivers of the Year:

National Commercial: Michael Juhan, Republic Services, Inc.

National Residential: Bill White, Waste Connections, Inc.

 National Industrial: Timothy Parker, Waste Management, Inc.

 Regional Commercial: Michael McGarrity, Waste Industries

 Regional Residential: Ted Vrell, Recology

 Regional Industrial: Joe Dahlmeimer, Rumpke Waste & Recycling

 Local: Alvaro Mora, All Waste, Inc.

 Public: Diana Heath, City of San Diego

 2019 Operators of the Year:

MRF/ Transfer Station: Edward Owen McMullen, Waste Management, Inc.

 Landfill: Roberto Hernandez, Republic Services, Inc.



The National Waste and Recycling Association represents the private sector waste and recycling services industry. Association members conduct business in all 50 states, and include companies that manage garbage, recycling and medical waste, equipment manufacturers and distributors, and a variety of other service providers. For more information about NWRA, please visit



Brandon Wright

National Waste and Recycling Association