Member Login | E-Store | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse
Operator of the Year
Share |

Operator of the Year

Nominate your best! This competition is a great way to recognize your best and safest operators of heavy equipment, including bulldozers, front-end loaders, compactors, etc. The winner in each category is honored in person at WasteExpo, and receives a commemorative gift and $1000 prize. To submit your applications, Click here.

Deadline for applications is January 7, 2019. 

Application Fee

Member - $150                                                   
Non-member/ public sector - $250

If you are employed by a private company you must be a member to apply. 

How to Enter
Link to Application

  1. If you are new to this application process, please sign up by entering your email address and creating a password. Your username and password are separate from your NWRA account. You will then be taken to the application form. If you have already created an application, please login to review/edit application(s).

  2. Complete all questions on the nomination form.

  3. Submit nomination form(s) with payment and required documents. These payments are non-refundable.

The Judging Process

All preliminary judging is completely anonymous and is based on a weighted scoring system. The finalists in each category are determined by computer tabulation. Additional documentation will be requested for these individuals. Upon notification, please provide letters of commendation, service award certificates, testimonials from customers, or any other documented examples of outstanding service. The coded score sheets and additional documentation will be forwarded to a judging committee to assist in selecting the winners. The supervisor of the winning operator will be notified via e-mail in February of 2018.

Who Can Participate

Operators working in post-collection for a MRF, landfill or transfer station from the private and public sectors in the United States may participate.

Drivers must be a full-time employee at the time of nomination, winner selection and award presentation. Winners from past competitions are not eligible to enter again.

Please contact Jordan Weiss with any questions about the nomination process at: 
925-989-1114 or

Deadline for applications is January 7, 2019. 

Past Recipients

Bruce Russin, Casella Waste Services