60th Anniversary

This year marks 60 years since the National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) was founded to advocate for the waste and recycling industry. NWRA, originally named the National Council of Refuse Disposal Trade Associations, has celebrated many accomplishments over the years and is excited to celebrate its 60th anniversary with its members, partners and the industry as a whole in 2022.

One of our anniversary projects is a special video highlighting the Association’s history and future, as well as members’ and leaders’ memories and stories. Please enjoy the video below and send your own memories and stories to womens-council@wasterecycling.org for a chance to be featured on NWRA’s social media channels.

For this video, NWRA would like to extend a special thanks to everyone involved:

Creative Director
Skye Riss, Cambridge Companies

Editorial Director
Mallory Szczepanski, National Waste & Recycling Association

Project Leads
Laura Askin, LKACo, LLC
Katie Raverty-Evans, National Waste & Recycling Association
Rimal Ternanni, BACE, LLC
Members of the National Waste & Recycling Association Women’s Council 60th Anniversary Committee

The National Waste & Recycling Association Women’s Council

Matt Bowman, Macobo ViewPoints

Lead Cast
Pat Carroll, Environmental Solutions Group (ESG)
Tony Cardamone, Concorde, Inc.
Steve Changaris, National Waste & Recycling Association
Lisa Disbrow, WM
Scott Dols, Trucks & Parts of Tampa, Inc. and Big Truck Rental
Anne Germain, Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice President of Technical and Regulatory Affairs, National Waste & Recycling Association
Terry Guerin, Southside Landfill, Best Way Disposal
Ben A. Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons
Ellen Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons
Chris Hawn, Machinex Technologies, Inc.
Dan Jameson, Republic Services, Inc.
Pete Keller, Republic Services, Inc.
Peggy Macenas, National Waste & Recycling Association
Shawn Mandel, Waste Connections
Zach Martin, Big Truck Rental
Ron McCracken, RJM Associates
Chaz Miller, National Waste & Recycling Association
Hal Miller, Larson-Miller
Garry Mosier, M & M Safety Services
Jim Olson, Republic Services, Inc.
Don Ross, McLaughlin Family Companies and New Way Trucks
Mike Schwalbach, Sierra Container Group
Darrell K. Smith, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Waste & Recycling Association
John Skoutelas, WM
Kathy Trent, WM
Eugene Wingerter, National Solid Wastes Management Association

Supporting Cast
Susan Eppes, EST Solutions, Inc.
Liza Casella, Casella Waste Systems, Inc.
Todd Green, American Environmental Landfill
Robert Lee, Ecotech Waste Logistics
Dave Malter, Malter Associates, Inc.
Steve Smith, S&L Environmental, LLC
Sean Mason, Sierra Container Group
Bryan Staley, Environmental Research & Education Foundation (EREF)
Larry Stone, Ecotech Waste Logistics