NWRA Florida Chapter Holds Legislative Fly-in and Presents Legislative Champion Awards

NWRA Florida Chapter Holds Legislative Fly-in and Presents Legislative Champion Awards

The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) Florida chapter held its legislative fly-in last week to discuss 2021 and 2022 legislative priorities. During this meeting, chapter members met with Tim Bahr, director of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection’s (DEP) Division of Waste Management, and Karen Moore, the Florida DEP’s environmental administrator for waste reduction.

On November 3, the NWRA Florida chapter was able to conduct meetings with Reps. Nick DiCeglie, Cord Byrd and Lara Medley; Senate Majority Leaders Aide Angel Gonzalez; and Sens. Jason Brodeur and Keith Perry. One issue that was discussed was liquidated damages. Since there is a special session relating to COVID-19 mandates scheduled for November 15, the chapter is researching the possibility of adding language to the legislation that would suspend liquidated damages during a pandemic or other natural disaster. Later during the regular session, slated to begin on January 11, 2022, the chapter would like to see draft legislation that would place a cap on the percentage of liquidated damages charged.

During the two-day event, NWRA also was able to host a reception and present Legislative Champion Awards to those senators and representatives who sponsored and led policy instrumental to the waste and recycling industry. In attendance at the reception were Reps. Fred Hawkins, Jim Mooney, David Smith, Bobby Payne, Toby Overdorf, Linda Chaney and Cyndi Stevenson, as well as Sens. Ray Rodrigues and Ed Hooper.

This year’s recipients of the Legislative Champion Awards are as follows:

Sen. Jason Brodeur and Rep. Cord Byrd for their work in renewable energy.

Sen. Ray Rodrigues and Rep. Lawrence McClure for their legislation related to the displacement of private waste companies.

Sen. Keith Perry and Rep. Jackie Toledo for legislation related to the construction lien law.

Sen. Jeff Brandes and Rep. Lawrence McClure for legislation related to liability protections for COVID-19-related claims.

While all the award winners weren’t able to join us in person, they will receive their awards at a later date.