NWRA Florida Chapter Honors Lawmakers as Legislative Champions

NWRA Florida Chapter Honors Lawmakers as Legislative Champions

Arlington, VA – The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) Florida chapter named Sens. Keith Perry (R-Gainesville) and Ben Albritton (R-Bartow), as well as Rep. Toby Overdorf (R-Stuart), as Legislative Champions for 2020.

Albritton was thrilled to win his first Legislative Champion Award. He is a supporter of the solid waste and recycling industry and continuously includes the Florida chapter when working on legislation dealing with recycling and renewable energy.

Perry has been a strong supporter of the Florida chapter over his years in office. He was named a Legislative Champion due to his work on the legislation that will help reduce contamination in recycling.

This was the second award for Overdorf, who was recognized as Legislative Champion for his work on legislation to help curb contamination in residential recycling programs.

“The backbone of NWRA is our state chapters. Some of the most significant issues impacting our industry are at the state level. It is important that we recognize the efforts of lawmakers who support our industry,” said NWRA President and CEO Darrell Smith.


The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) represents the private sector waste and recycling services industry. Association members conduct business in all 50 states and include companies that manage waste, recycling and medical waste, equipment manufacturers and distributors, and a variety of other service providers. For more information about NWRA, please visit www.wasterecycling.org.

Brandon Wright
National Waste and Recycling Association