Applications Open for NWRA Safety Awards

Applications Open for NWRA Safety Awards

Arlington, VA – The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) is accepting applications for its Driver and Operator of the Year awards. Those selected for the Drivers and Operators of the Year will be honored during NWRA’s Awards Breakfast at WasteExpo 2022.

“We have tremendous talent in our industry. Our member companies and their employees are the strength of NWRA. It is important we recognize the contributions they make to the Association and the waste and recycling industry,” said NWRA President and CEO Darrell Smith.

The Driver of the Year award recognizes the safest and most efficient drivers in the industry in several different categories that include:

  • Local Companies (fewer than 500 trucks)
  • Regional Companies (500 to 2,500 trucks)
  • National Companies (more than 2,500 trucks)

The Operator of the Year award recognizes heavy equipment operators working in post-collection operations including landfills, materials recovery facilities and transfer stations. Two Operator of the Year awards will be given this year.

Nominees must be employed by an NWRA member company. Municipalities do not have to be a member. The deadline for applications is January 28, 2022.


The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) represents the private sector waste and recycling services industry. Association members conduct business in all 50 states and include companies that manage waste, recycling and medical waste, equipment manufacturers and distributors, and a variety of other service providers. For more information about NWRA, please visit

Brandon Wright
National Waste and Recycling Association